Posted on

All just a little bit of history repeating.

Well, the first week back is almost over.  My usual regression to an eighteen-year-old doesn’t seem to have materialised yet (give it time), and things seem to be going pretty well.  The lectures for the module I’m doing at the moment aren’t too dry, but once again I’m reminded of how poorly this course is set up for part-time students.

The way the course is organised is that there are six modules, each split into two week blocks which are run over non-consecutive weeks.  For part-time students this means you either do one or two modules per term.  In practice, this means that the weeks that aren’t spent attending lectures are spent at work.

This concept is one that has yet fully sunk in to the consciousness of the course organisers.  They don’t yet seem to have fully grasped the reason why people who do part-time courses don’t do full-time courses: because they don’t have the time to do so.  Believe me, if I could have got this course out of the way in one year I would have, but I didn’t because I couldn’t afford to take a year off work.  Therefore I work full-time and take time off to travel to university when I need to.

So what do the module organisers do having failed to realise this?  Organise compulsory tutorials and guest lectures during weeks when their module is not being taught, then get uppity when they’re surrounded by part-time students trying to either a) get them reorganised to another time or b) get hold of all the materials so they can do the work at home.

It was the same two years ago, and it’s the same now.  In my first year it was group presentations, this time it’s revision sessions (which I now may end up having to do via Skype or something similar!).  I may have to be quite forthright in my module feedback

Leave a Reply

