Posted on

Spicy lamb stew recipe

I had a random burst of improvisation in the kitchen tonight which went really well, so I thought I’d a) preserve what I did for posterity and b) share it in case anyone fancies trying it. I had the initial thought of doing an Irish stew, but somewhere between that thought and actually getting to the shop it turned into something else. Something very tasty, apparently. Any way, here goes, I hope you like it if you try it.

Ingredients (all approximate):

  • 800g (1¾ lb) diced lamb
  • 1 large onion, roughly chopped
  • 3 carrots, sliced thickly
  • 1 lamb stock cube
  • 2tbsp olive oil
  • 3tsp dried rosemary
  • 3tsp dried thyme
  • 3tsp steak spice mix
  • 1tsp chilli sea salt
  • 200ml stout/porter
  • ground black pepper to taste

Instructions:

  1. Heat the oil in a casserole dish on a high heat. Brown the lamb in batches and lift out with a slotted spoon for later.
  2. Cook the onion and carrot in the lamb juices for ten minutes or so, stirring occasionally, then add the rosemary and thyme and stir for another minute or so.
  3. Return the lamb to the casserole dish, then add the stock and stout (I used Murphy’s), and the seasoning.
  4. Bring to the boil then reduce the heat. Cover, and cook for 1½ to 2 hours.

I served with bread tonight, but I imagine it would be great with potatoes. If we had a larger casserole dish I’d have put potatoes in the stew, but ah well.

Leave a Reply

